Article | 30 Nov, 2015

Nine countries elected to the World Heritage Committee

Nine States Parties have been elected to the World Heritage Committee: Angola, Azerbaijan, Burkina Faso, Cuba, Indonesia, Kuwait, Tunisia, United Republic of Tanzania, and Zimbabwe. They take the place of Algeria, Colombia, Germany, India, Japan, Malaysia, Qatar, Senegal and Serbia.

content hero image

Photo: IUCN / Célia Zwahlen

The World Heritage Committee consists of representatives from 21 governments, elected by the General Assembly of States Parties to the World Heritage Convention. The 20th General Assembly met from 18 to 20 November 2015 at UNESCO Headquarters in Paris, France.

During the session, the States Parties also discussed the World Heritage Fund, the Global Strategy for a representative, balanced and credible World Heritage List, and the future of the World Heritage Convention.

The United Republic of Tanzania also became a new member of the Bureau, joining Lebanon, Peru, Philippines and Poland. The Bureau consists of a Chairperson, five Vice-Chairpersons and a Rapporteur, who coordinate the work of the World Heritage Committee.

The Committee is responsible for the implementation of the World Heritage Convention, defines the use of the World Heritage Fund and allocates financial assistance upon requests from States Parties.

As the official advisory body on nature, IUCN makes recommendations to the World Heritage Committee on new potential inscriptions on the World Heritage List, and on necessary action for World Heritage sites facing threats. The World Heritage Committee meets once a year to take decisions and has the final say.
The World Heritage List today numbers 1031 sites in 163 countries, including 197 natural sites and 32 “mixed" natural and cultural sites.

The next World Heritage Committee meeting will be held from 10 to 20 July 2016 in Istanbul, Turkey.

The 21 States Parties of the World Heritage Committee:
Angola, Azerbaijan, Burkina Faso, Croatia, Cuba, Finland, Indonesia, Jamaica, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Tunisia, Turkey, United Republic of Tanzania, Viet Nam, Zimbabwe