Call for Entries to Reuters-IUCN Environmental Media Awards

Reuters Foundation and IUCN (International Union for Conservation of Nature) launch 2008 Media Awards for Excellence in Environmental Reporting.

Reuters-IUCN Media Awards

London and Gland, Switzerland, 15 April 2008 (Reuters Foundation/IUCN) – Reuters Foundation and IUCN (International Union for Conservation of Nature) launch today the 2008 Media Awards, a worldwide competition aimed at raising global awareness of environmental and sustainable development issues, by encouraging excellence in environmental reporting worldwide. The awards are co-funded by Reuters Foundation, IUCN and COM+ Alliance of Communicators for Sustainable Development.

Previous winners have come from countries as diverse as Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Canada, China, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Egypt, El Salvador, Germany, Great Britain, Kenya, Macedonia, Nigeria, Pakistan, Philippines, Qatar, Russia, South Africa, Togo, USA, and Zimbabwe.

“Environmental reporting is a crucial step towards a more sustainable future. Through this competition we are looking for examples of investigative and inspired reporting that helps both decision-makers and the public conserve nature and contribute to human wellbeing,” said Julia Marton-Lefèvre, Director General of IUCN.

5,000 US$ cash prize for global winner

Journalists working in print and online media are invited to submit entries to 2008 Reuters-IUCN Media Awards. One winner from each of the six regions – Latin America; North America, including the Caribbean and Oceania; Europe; Asia, including the Middle East; English-speaking Africa; and French-speaking Africa will be invited to attend the Global Awards Ceremony taking place in Barcelona, Spain, during the IUCN World Conservation Congress in October 2008. The global winner will receive a cash prize of US$ 5,000.

All submissions must have been published between 12 September 2006 and 10 June 2008. Candidates may submit one article only, accompanied by an entry form. Entries written in a language other than English, French or Spanish must be accompanied by a translation.

“Communicating the triumphs and tragedies of the unfolding story of man's ability to destroy or preserve his environment is perhaps the most important journalistic endeavour of our times. We want to honour those journalists around the world who are excelling in this work,” comments Rosemary Martin, Director Reuters Foundation.

The deadline for entries is 15 June 2008.

More information and application forms can be found on the Reuters Foundation website at: and the IUCN website at

For more information please contact:

Work area: 
North America
East and Southern Africa
West and Central Africa
West Asia
Go to top