World Heritage

Natural World Heritage sites include iconic places such as the Great Barrier Reef, Yellowstone, the Galápagos Islands and Kilimanjaro, and are recognised as the world's most significant protected areas.


Section Slider

  • In the spotlight:

    IUCN at #41WHC

    UNESCO's 41st session of the World Heritage Committee took place in Kraków, Poland from 2 to 12 July 2017. Catch up on IUCN's news from the event and recommendations to the Committee.

  • In the spotlight:

    New natural World Heritage sites

    Discover the natural wonders that were added on the World Heritage List in 2017 through our multimedia feature

  • In the spotlight:

    IUCN World Heritage Outlook

    The first global assessment of natural World Heritage, launched in 2014, will be updated in 2017, allowing for changes to be tracked over time.

  • In the spotlight:

    Facts on natural World Heritage

    Did you know that, together, the 238 natural sites on the World Heritage List cover an area about the size of India? Explore the interactive map and get the facts about the natural wonders of the world.

  • In the spotlight:

    Building knowledge and capacity

    IUCN undertakes initiatives and projects to enhance the effectiveness of the World Heritage Convention and support its leadership role.

Latest news

Latest publications

Go to top