The George Rabb Award for Conservation Innovation

This is a new award in honour of Dr George Rabb, Chair of SSC from 1989 to 1996, for outstanding innovation and creativity in species conservation in the context of the SSC. It is given to individuals in recognition of delivering transformational advances in conservation theory and practice.

Recipients are decided by the SSC Steering Committee. Awards may be made at any time, but formal ceremonies will take place once an IUCN Quadrennium.

Award: Recipients each receive a prize of US$ 5,000 generously provided by Dr George Rabb.

2015 recipients:

The George Rabb Awards were presented at the IUCN SSC Leaders' Meeting, Abu Dhabi, September 2015 to:

Mr Michael Hoffmann
In recognition of his leadership on developing novel means to measure the impact and success of conservation on a global scale, as well as his inspirational leadership of the IUCN Red List Committee, and his growing influence as one of the most articulate advocates for species conservation.
Dr Penny Langhammer
In recognition of her exceptional leadership in developing a consistent and scientifically robust global standard for identifying important sites for the persistence of biodiversity, drawing together multiple different stakeholders and scientific disciplines.

2012 recipients:

The George Rabb Awards were presented at the IUCN SSC Specialist Group Chairs' Meeting, Abu Dhabi, February 2012 to:

Dr Robert Lacy
In recognition of his pioneering work in the development of Population and Habitat Viability Assessment as a practical conservation tool, and his exceptional leadership as Chair of the SSC Conservation Breeding Specialist Group.
Dr H. Resit Akçakaya 
In recognition of his innovative work on how to handle uncertainty consistently in Red List Assessments, his leadership on the development of the Red List Guidelines and the Extinction Guidelines, and his chairing of the SSC Standards and Petitions


Go to top