SSC Groups


Below is the full list and contact details for all IUCN SSC Invertebrate Groups.  

The menu on the left provides links to the groups who have websites. The individual groups listed host their websites on the IUCN site.  For the externally hosted websites of other Invertebrate Groups please click on “Other Specialist Groups”.

BombusBumblebee Specialist Group

Co-chairs: Paul Williams and Sarina Jepsen
Red List Authority Coordinator: Rich Hatfield

Apollo ButterflyButterfly Specialist Group


Red List Authority Coordinator: Monika Böhm

Whip scorpionCave Invertebrate Specialist Group

Chairs: Louis Deharveng
Red List Authority Coordinator: Sonia Khela

Acropora coral.Coral Specialist Group

Chair: David Obura
Red List Authority Coordinator: Flavia Nunes

DragonflyDragonfly Specialist Group

Co-Chairs: Viola Clausnitzer and Geert de Knijf
Red List Authority Coordinator: Viola Clausnitzer

FireflyFirefly Specialist Group

Co-Chairs: Sara Lewis and Wong Choong Hay (Sonny Wong)
Red List Authority Coordinator:  Yiu Vor

Purple Marsh Crab (Afrithelphusa monodosa)Freshwater Crustacean Specialist Group

Chair: Neil Cumberlidge
Red List Authority Coordinators: 
Freshwater Crabs: Darren C.J. Yeo
Freshwater Crayfish: Keith Crandall
Freshwater Shrimps: Sammy DeGrave

Prionotropis hystrix rhodanicaGrasshopper Specialist Group

Co-Chairs: Axel Hochkirch and Mark Bushell
Red List Authority Coordinator: Baudewijn Odé

temnostoma vespiformeHoverfly Specialist Group

Co-chairs: Ante Vujić and Francis Gilbert
Red List Authority Coordinator: Leendert-Jan van der Ent

Carcinoscorpius rotundicaudaHorseshoe Crab Specialist Group

Co-chairs: Mark L. Botton and Paul K.S. Shin
Red List Authority Coordinator: Dave Smith
2016-2017 Horseshoe Crab SG Report

Coccinella novemnotataLadybird Specialist Group

Chair: John E. Losey
Red List Authority Coordinator: Antonio Soares

Spiky Yellow WoodlouseMid Atlantic Islands Invertebrate Specialist Group

Co-Chairs: Vicky Wilkins and Paulo Borges
Red List Authority Coordinator: Dinarte Teixeira



The hard clam or quahog, Mercenaria mercenaria is a bivalve mollusc native to the eastern shores of North America, from Prince Edward Island to the Yucatán Peninsula.Mollusc Specialist Group (snails, slugs, squids, clams, scallops, etc)

Chair and Red List Coordinator: Mary Seddon
Red List Authority Coordinators:
Cephalopods: Louise Allcock
Cones: Under discussion
European Land Snails: Eike Neuber
Australian Land and Freshwater Molluscs: Frank Kohler
Freshwater bivalves: Manuel Lopes-Lima

MillipedeSouth Asian Invertebrate Specialist Group

Co-Chairs: Bexell Ayyachamy Daniel and Dr. Gawsia Wahidunnessa Chowdhury
Red List Authority Coordinator: Sanjay Molur

Hogna ingensSpider and Scorpion Specialist Group

Chair: Sergio Henriques (Interim-Chair)
Red List Authority Coordinator: Sergio Henriques

Dung BeetleTerrestrial and Freshwater Invertebrate Red List Authority

Coordinator: Justin Gerlach

Go to top