Legacy Article | 11 Jun, 2008

Rio Tinto Alcan prize


US$1million Rio Tinto Alcan Prize for Sustainability now open for entries.

Rio Tinto Alcan and the International Business Leaders Forum (IBLF) have
announced that the US$1million Rio Tinto Alcan Prize for Sustainability 2008
is now open for entries. Information on eligibility criteria and how to
enter the prize is available at
The closing date for receipt of entries is midnight, 12 September 2008

The Rio Tinto Alcan Prize is open to all not-for-profit, non-governmental,
and civil society organizations based anywhere in the world that are working
to advance the goals of economic, environmental, and social sustainability.
The prize was created to recognize the not-for-profit sector for its
contributions to global sustainability in the community and more widely by
influencing policy.

In addition to the US$1million prize, nine grants worth US$15,000 each will
be awarded to the shortlisted NGOs to invest in one of three approved
courses: the postgraduate certificate in cross-sector partnership at
Cambridge University, the LEAD Fellows training programme or the
postgraduate certificate in sustainable development from the University of

Previous winners of the prize include the Forest Stewardship Council (2004),
the Aga Khan Planning and Building Services Pakistan (2005), the Barefoot
College (2006) and the Utthan Centre for Sustainable Development and Poverty
Alleviation (2007). Rio Tinto Alcan does not have a voice on the Assessment
or Adjudication Panels which are facilitated by IBLF, ensuring a rigorous
and transparent approach.

The Rio Tinto Alcan Prize for Sustainability program is climate neutral and
offsets CO2 emissions generated from management and travel activities
relating to the Prize with contributions to Climate Care.

For further information, please contact Leesa Muirhead, Manager, Rio Tinto
Alcan Prize for Sustainability on +44 (0) 7901 510 701 or