World Commission on Environmental Law



PDF iconWCEL members by name 29 June 2017

PDF iconWCEL members by country 29 June 2017


If you are interested in WCEL membership, please complete this application form.

The lists found above indicate who is currently a member. Any of these members, as well as any of the honorary members listed below, may be approached for the required support of a nomination to WCEL membership. 


The IUCN Statutes provide that all Commission membership expires three months after the World Conservation Congress. It is then for the Chair of each Commission to determine Commission membership, with the help of the Steering Committee.

Honorary WCEL members

The following persons were proposed and appointed as honorary WCEL members, in recognition of their outstanding lifelong contribution to environmental law:

Hon. Justice P.N. Bhagwati (India)
Mr. J. William Futrell (U.S.A.)
Dr. Parvez Hassan (Pakistan)
Mr. Donald W. Kaniaru (Kenya)
Ambassador Tommy Koh (Singapore)
Dr. Charles Odidi Okidi (Kenya)
Professor Nicholas A. Robinson (U.S.A.)
Dr. Iwona Rummel-Bulska (Kenya)
Professor Dinah L. Shelton (U.S.A.)
Hon. Justice Paul Stein (Australia)

In Memoriam:
Dr. Wolfgang E. Burhenne (Germany) (2017)
Professor Patricia W. Birnie (U.K.) (2013)
Ms. Angela S. Cropper (Trinidad & Tobago) (2012)
Dr. Julio A. Barberis (Argentina) (2011)
Professor Alexandre Kiss (France) (2007)

Go to top