Species Survival Commission

SSC Leadership and Steering Committee

The governance structure of the SSC must be re-constituted every four years, as per the IUCN Statutes.

SSC is governed by a Steering Committee, which is headed by the Commission Chair. The Steering Committee represents a balance of regional and thematic perspectives, and provides overall direction to the work of the Commission.

The SSC Chair, in consultation with the Steering Committee, can establish various SSC Sub-Committees and Task Forces.The Chairs of these Sub-Committees or Task Forces are often members of the SSC Steering Committee.

The SSC Chair, in consultation with the Steering Committee, must appoint Chairs for the various SSC Specialist Groups at the beginning of each Quadrennium. Specialist Group Chairs are then mandated by the SSC Chair to appoint group members.

Jon Paul RodríguezSSC Chair, Prof Jon Paul Rodríguez

Jon Paul Rodríguez is Professor at the Center for Ecology of the Venezuelan Institute for Scientific Investigations (Instituto Venezolano de Investigaciones Científicas ― IVIC), and he is a founder, past Board Member (1987-2001, 2009-2012) and President (2001-2008, 2013-present) of Provita (a Venezuelan conservation NGO established in 1987). His undergraduate degree in biology is from Universidad Central de Venezuela in Caracas (1991). He was then awarded a Fulbright scholarship for a PhD in ecology and evolutionary biology at Princeton University (1999). More

Domitilla RaimondoSSC Deputy Chair, Ms Domitilla Raimondo

Domitilla Raimondo is the Threatened Species Programme Manager at the South African National Biodiversity Institute. She is responsible for the species assessments for South Africa’s National Biodiversity Assessment and has extensive experience assessing the threat status for South Africa’s animal and plant species. Domitilla is the lead author of the “Red List of South African Plants” (2009) and has co-ordinated the Red List assessments for many animal groups. She is dedicated to ensuring that species information feeds into landuse decision making. Domitilla is also involved in species conservation work internationally and serves on the IUCN SSC Red List Committee.

Members of the SSC Steering Committee 2017-2020
Prof Luigi Boitani Mr Mike Hoffmann*
Dr Onnie Byers Dr Vololoniaina Jeannoda
Dr Claudio Campagna Ms Olga Krever
Prof Topiltzin Contreras MacBeath Dr Mirza Kusrini
Dr Rosie Cooney Dr Fred Launay
Mr Ehab Eid Dr Gabriela Lichtenstein
Dr Dmitry Geltman Mr Vivek Menon
Dr Piero Genovesi Dr Russ Mittermeier
Dr Brahim Haddane Dr Greg Mueller
Dr Ian Harrison Ms Nunia Thomas
Dr Axel Hochkirch Dr Pricelia Tumenta
Dr Jonathan Hutton Prof Amanda Vincent
Dr Yan Xie  
Institutional Observers  
Birdlife International - Dr Stuart Butchart  
Conservation International - Mr Will Turner  
Global Wildlife Conservation - Prof Wes Sechrest  
TRAFFIC - Mr Steven Broad  
Wildlife Conservation Society - Dr Elizabeth Bennett  
WWF - Wendy Elliot  
Zoological Society of London - Mr Mike Hoffmann*  
Fondation Franklinia - Dr Jean-Christophe Vié  
World Association of Zoos and Aquariums (WAZA) - Doug Cress  
IUCN Secretariat  
Dr Jane Smart, Global Director Biodiversity Conservation Group  
Dr Richard Jenkins, Deputy Director Global Species Programme  
Dr Tom Brooks, Head Science & Knowledge Unit  

* Is both a member and an institutional observer 

Go to top