Protected Areas


Winners of the Packard Award at the IUCN World Conservation Congress 2016 in Hawai'i Photo: IUCN/Valerie Batselaere

WCPA offers 3 awards

Kenton Miller Award for Innovation in National Parks and Protected Area Sustainability

The Kenton R. Miller Award will recognise individuals who have clearly demonstrated innovation in relation to protected areas. Specifically, it will recognise persons who have developed and applied innovative policies, scientific knowledge, technologies, field practice or governance that hold promise to significantly increase the potential for sustainability of protected areas with demonstrable impact at local, national, or international levels.

More information

Fred Packard Award: Outstanding service to Protected Areas

The Fred Packard Award is named for the individual who served as Secretary to the Commission in the early years, especially during the early 1970's when the Commission was hardly alive.
The Packard Award is now presented by WCPA to individuals or groups to recognize outstanding service to protected areas. The award includes a certificate. Cash prizes are issued in certain circumstances. Nominations can be accepted for any individual (or group of individuals) who has carried out his/her duties in the service of protected areas above and beyond the call of duty. 

More information

Young Conservationist Awards: Outstanding contributions by young conservationists

The International Ranger Federation (IRF) and IUCN’s World Commission on Protected Areas (WCPA) call for nominations for the prestigious Young Conservationist Award

The award aims to recognize and raise awareness of the outstanding contributions made to the management of protected areas, and leadership shown, by young conservationists. It also seeks to encourage young professionals and help them develop networks by inviting winners to join WCPA. 

More information

Work area: 
Protected Areas
Go to top