Protected Areas

EU overseas

From the poles to the tropics, the European Union (EU) includes 34 overseas entities: 9 Outermost Regions (ORs) and 25 Overseas Countries and Territories (OCTs). They are linked to 6 European Member States: Denmark, France, the Netherlands, Portugal, Spain and the United Kingdom. Found in every ocean and diverse biogeographical regions they are home to a unique diversity of species and ecosystems of global significance, which are highly vulnerable to human impacts and increasingly the impacts of climate change.
Dog Island, Anguilla

EU Outermost Regions and Overseas Countries and Territories Programme

IUCN’s EU Outermost Regions and Overseas Countries and Territories Progamme contributes to the protection of this critical natural capital and its integration into sustainable development and climate change adaptation strategies. Read more about the IUCN Programme on Europe’s overseas here.

View the video to learn more about the EU overseas and their unique place in global biodiversity and sustainable development:


Look at the map to see where EU Outermost Regions and Overseas Countries and Territories are located. Alternatively, the list by region can be seen here

BEST, MAP, Eu overseas

The designation of geographical entities on this webpage and the presentation of the material, do not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of IUCN concerning the legal status of any country, territory, or area, or of its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers or boundaries.

Go to top