SSC Groups

Plants & Fungi

Below is the full list and contact details for all IUCN SSC Plants and Fungi Groups.  

The menu on the left provides links to the groups who have websites. The individual groups listed host their websites on the IUCN site.  For the externally hosted websites of other Plants Groups please click on “Other Specialist Groups”.

Note that Fungi specialist groups do not have websites and we invite you to contact the chairs for more information.

Plant Specialist Groups

Fungi Specialist Groups

Arctic poppyArctic Plant Specialist Group

Co-chairs: Mora Aronsson and Henry Väre

Red List Authority Coordinator:  Under appointment

Prepusa connataBrazil Plant Red List Authority

Coordinator: Gustavo Martinelli
2016-2017 Brazil Plant RLA Report

Boulder with Liverworts & MossBryophyte Specialist Group (mosses, liverworts, and hornworts)
Co-Chairs: Irene Bisang and Jacques van Rooy
Red List Authority Coordinator: Ariel Bergamini
2016-2017 Bryophyte SG Report

CactusCactus and Succulent Plant Specialist Group
Co-Chairs: Barbara Goettsch and Kimberlie McCue
Red List Authority Coordinator: Raul Puente-Martinez
2016-2017 Cactus and Succulent SG Report

Nepenthes lowiiCarnivorous Plant Specialist Group

Chair: Robert Cantley

Red List Authority Coordinator: Charles Clarke 


Galanthus platyphyllusCaucasus Plant Red List Authority

Coordinator: George Nakhutsrishvilli
2016-2017 Caucasus Plant RLA Report

Aerangis bilobaCentral African Plant Red List Authority

Coordinators: Tariq Stévart and Jean-Michel Onana
2016-2017 Central African Plant RLA Report

Ginkgo bilobaChinese Plant Specialist Group
Chair: Qin Hain-ing
Red List Authority Coordinator: Li-na Zhao
Chinese Plant SG Report

Loricaria colombianaColombian Plant Specialist Group
Co-Chairs: Cristina López-Gallego and Carolina Castellanos
Red List Authority Coordinator: Nestor García
2016-2017 Colombian Plant SG Report

ConiferConifer Specialist Group

Chair: Martin Gardner

Red List Authority Coordinator: Philip Thomas
2016-2017 Conifer SG Report

Wild garlicCrop Wild Relative Specialist Group

Co-Chairs: Ehsan Dulloo and Nigel Maxted

Red List Authority Coordinator: Under discussion 

2016-2017 Crop Wild Relative SG Report

Sugar cane plantations at Santa Clara province, CubaCuban Plant Specialist Group

Chair: Luis Roberto González Torres

Red List Authority Coordinator: Luis Roberto González Torres
2016-2017 Cuban Plant SG Report

CycadsCycad Specialist Group

Co-Chairs: John Donaldson and Patrick Griffith

Red List Authority Coordinator: DeWet Bosenberg

2016-2017 Cycad SG Report

Lobelia telekiiEastern Africa Plant Red List Authority

Coordinator: Quentin Luke

Baldellia ranunculoides subspecies repensFreshwater Plant Specialist Group

Chair: Richard Lansdown

Red List Authority Coordinator: Melanie Bilz

2016-2017 Freshwater Plant SG Report

Lava Cactus (Brachycereus Nesioticus). One of the first inhabitants on the Galapagos Islands.Galapagos Plant Specialist Group

Chair: Alan Tye

Red List Authority Coordinator:Alan Tye

Magnolia treeGlobal Trees Specialist Group

Co-Chairs: Sara Oldfield and Adrian Newton

Red List Authority Coordinator: Malin Rivers

2016-2017 Global Tree SG Report

Hawaiian hibiscusHawaiian Plant Specialist Group

Chair: Vickie Caraway

Red List Authority Coordinator: Matthew Keir

Durian Lai (Kalimantan)Indonesian Plant Red List Authority

Red List Authority Coordinator: Yulita Kusumadewi

Hibiscus Syriacus, the national flower of KoreaKorean Plant Specialist Group

Chair: Kim Yong-Shik

Red List Authority Coordinator: Chin-Sung Chang


Endemic Macronesian heaths, also known as fayal-brezalMacaronesian Island Plant Specialist Group

Chair: Mónica Moura & Juli Caujapé-Castells

Red List Authority Coordinator: Luís Silva

Madagascar baobabsMadagascar Plant Specialist Group

Chair: Vololoniaina Jeannoda

Red List Authority Coordinator: Sylvie Renée Andriambololonera

Sonneratia alba, Capiz, PhilippinesMangrove Specialist Group

Chair: Joe Lee

Red List Authority Coordinator: Jean Yong

2016-2017 Mangrove SG Report

Cáfe marron (Ramosmania rodriguesii)Mascarene Island Plant Specialist Group

Co-Chairs: Vikash Tatayah and Stéphane Baret

Red List Authority Coordinators: Joel Duponx and Kersley Pynee

DandelionMedicinal Plant Specialist Group

Co-Chairs: Danna Leaman and Anastasiya Timoshyna

Red List Authority Coordinator: Danna Leaman

2016-2017 Medicinal Plant SG Report

Lonicera splendidaMediterranean Plant Specialist Group

Chair: Bertrand de Montmollin

Red List Authority Coordinator: Errol Vela

2016-2017 Mediterranean Plant SG Report


Metrosideros microphyllaNew Caledonia Plant Red Specialist Group Chair: Shankar Meyer 
Red List Authority
Coordinator: Shankar Meyer 

Acer rubrumNorth American Plant Red List Authority

Coordinator: Anne Frances

OrchidOrchid Specialist Group

Chair: Mike Fay

Red List Authority Coordinator: Hassan Rankou


Palm leafPalm Specialist Group

Chairs: Thomas Couvreur

Red List Authority Coordinator: Ariane Cosiaux


Aloe dichotoma (Quiver Tree) in Namaqualand.Southern African Plant Specialist Group

Chair: Hermenegildo Matimele

Red List Authority Coordinator: Lize von Staden

Enhalus acoroidesSeagrass Specialist Group

Chair: Fred Short

Red List Authority Coordinator: Brooke Sullivan

Dryas octopetalaSeed Conservation Specialist Group

Co-Chairs: Uromi Manage Goodale and Marian Chau

Lantana camaraTemperate South American Plant Specialist Group

Chair: Pablo de Maio
Red List Authority Coordinator: Luis Oakley
2016-2017 Temperate South American Plant SG Report

Lamproderma piriformeChytrid, Zygomycete, Downy Mildew and Slime Mould Specialist Group

Co-Chairs: Mayra Camino Vilaro and Tetyana Kryvomaz

Red List Authority Coordinator: Mayra Camino Vilaro
2016-2017 Chytrid, Zygomycete, Downy Mildew, Slime Mould SG Report

camillea leprieuriiCup-fungus, Truffle and Ally Specialist Group

Chair: David Minter

Red List Authority Coordinator: David Minter
2016-2017 Cup Fungi, Truffles and Allies SG Report

LichenLichen Specialist Group

Co-Chairs: Christoph Scheidegger and Olga Nadyeina

Red List Authority Coordinator: Christoph Scheidegger
2016-2017 Lichen SG Report

Fungus on willowMushroom, Bracket and Puffball Specialist Group

Chair: Greg Mueller

Red List Authority Coordinator: Greg Mueller

Sphacelotheca koordersianaRust and Smut Specialist Group

Chair: Cvetomir M. Denchev

Red List Authority Coordinator: Teodor T. Denchev
2016-2017 Rust and Smut SG Report


Go to top