World Heritage

Natural World Heritage sites include iconic places such as the Great Barrier Reef, Yellowstone, the Galápagos Islands and Kilimanjaro, and are recognised as the world's most significant protected areas.


Latest news

  • Mosi-oa-Tunya / Victoria Falls, Zambia, Zimbabwe Photo: IUCN/Sue Mainka

    Africa is focus of new World Heritage Leadership course


    Enrolment is now open for a World Heritage Leadership course on “People, Nature, Culture” tailored for the African region. The capacity-building programme is delivered by the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) and the International Centre...

  • Photo: © Igor Meijer/FISA

    IUCN welcomes first-of-kind World Rowing pledge to avoid impacts on natural World Heritage


    The World Rowing Federation FISA today became the first sporting body to announce its commitment to ensuring that activities under its control will not damage natural World Heritage sites, which IUCN monitors as the official advisory body on nature to the...

  • Photo: IUCN / Christelle Perruchoud

    IUCN reviews eight World Heritage nominations for 2018


    The IUCN World Heritage Panel recently gathered in Gland, Switzerland to review eight natural areas nominated for potential inscription on the World Heritage List in 2018. Among these sites, three are in Asia, two in Europe, while the remaining three are...

Latest publications

Go to top