Europe overseas

From the poles to the tropics, the European Union (EU) includes 34 overseas entities: 9 Outermost Regions (ORs) and 25 Overseas Countries and Territories (OCTs). Most of the EU’s biodiversity is located in these overseas countries and territories.
Purple dissotis, La Réunion

IUCN dedicates an entire programme to the overseas countries and territories of the EU, where most of the EU’s biodiversity is located. These nine Outermost Regions and 25 Overseas Countries and Territories cover the world’s largest marine territory and a land area equivalent to that of continental Europe. A Preparatory Action for a Voluntary Scheme for Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services in Territories of European Overseas (BEST) was launched in 2010 and continues to run in a new setup. The programme is part of the IUCN’s Regional Seas and EU Overseas Programme; day-to-day implementation is partially carried out from the Brussels office.

List of Members in Overseas Territories:

National Parks Trust of the Virgin Islands

British Virgin Islands (UK)

Dutch Caribbean Nature Alliance

Caribbean Netherlands (Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba)   (NL)

Caribbean Research & Management of Biodiversity Foundation

Curaçao (NL)

Durrell Wildlife Conservation Trust

Jersey (UK)

Climate Change and Environmental Sustainability Programme, Pacific Community

New Caledonia (FRANCE)

Direction de l'environnement de la province Sud

New Caledonia (FRANCE)

Direction Energie-Environnement - Conseil Régional de La Réunion

Reunion (FRANCE)

Groupe Local d'Observation et d`Identification des cétacés de la Réunion

Reunion (FRANCE)

Société Réunionnaise pour l'Etude et la Protection de l'Environnement Ile de la Réunion

Reunion (FRANCE)

FNE Saint Pierre et Miquelon

Saint Pierre and Miquelon (FRANCE)

Association Kwata

French Guiana

Te Mana o te Moana

French Polynesia

To find out more about the EU Overseas Programme please visit this section of our website.

Go to top