Eastern Europe and Central Asia

Our work

The overall objective of IUCN in Eastern Europe, North and Central Asia is to work towards the long-term protection of biodiversity and the sustainable use of natural resources. 

Eastern Europe, North and Central Asia is characterised by the vast diversity of natural values, ecological features environmental policies and social fabrics. The countries in the Eastern Europe and Central Asia (ECA) region are included in the following geographical sub-regions: Eastern Europe (Belarus, Moldova, the Russian Federation and Ukraine), South Eastern Europe (Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, Montenegro, North Macedonia and Serbia), South Caucasus (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia), and Central Asia (Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan).

To reach its targets in ECA region, IUCN defines its niche based on the needs of the region and its own value proposition. As a membership and knowledge-based organisation with strong convening power, IUCN’s role in ECA could be defined as follows:

  • Ensuring proper implementation of global policy in the region and help shape regional conservation policy;

  • Disseminating and applying IUCN Knowledge Products across the constituency and the partnership network;

  • Introducing innovative approaches to effective biodiversity conservation and natural resource management;

  • Supporting institutional strengthening and capacity building and exercise convening power across and between the regions, sectors and countries.

IUCN ECARO’s unique role is to give visibility and credibility to Union’s activities in Eastern Europe and Central Asia and position it properly at the global level. 


Go to top