Eastern and Southern Africa


kenyaIn Eastern and Southern Africa, IUCN brings together 100 governmental and non-governmental organizations spread across 18 of its 24 countries. The members include States, government agencies, international and local NGO.

The region has about 1,000 experts as members of the six IUCN Commissions namely:

  • Commission on Education and Communication (CEC);
  • Commission on Environmental, Economic and Social Policy (CEESP);
  • Commission on Ecosystem Management (CEM);
  • Species Survival Commission (SSC); and
  • The World Commission on Protected Areas (WCPA).

The Commissions are networks of expert volunteers entrusted to develop and advance the institutional knowledge and experience. In this region, there are number of active Specialist groups under the Species Survival Commission.

Through the “One-Programme” approach, IUCN offers the unique opportunity for IUCN Members, Commissions and Secretariat staff to use their collective strength to address the environment and development issues in the ragion.

Through its region-wide membership, IUCN is building links between countries in the region and more broadly in Africa and the rest of the world through experience sharing, convening multi-stakeholder platforms for consensus building and facilitation of transboundary processes.

IUCN membership is open to states, government agencies, conservation and development NGOs, and others with an interst in environmental management and conservation of natural resources.


Go to top