The George Rabb Award for Conservation Innovation

This is a new award in honour of Dr George Rabb, Chair of SSC from 1989 to 1996, for outstanding innovation and creativity in species conservation in the context of the SSC. It is given to individuals in recognition of delivering transformational advances in conservation theory and practice.

Recipients are decided by the SSC Steering Committee. Awards may be made at any time, but formal ceremonies will take place once an IUCN Quadrennium.

Award: Recipients each receive a prize of US $5,000 generously provided by Dr George Rabb.

Recipients 2019

Wendy Foden
In recognition of her innovative, dynamic and thoughtful leadership of SSC's work on climate change, especially for breaking new boundaries in the use of traits-based analyses and the IUCN SSC Guidelines for Assessing Species' Vulnerability to Climate Change.

Lisa Dabek
In recognition of her outstanding leadership and innovation in the conservation of one of the most overlooked groups of mammal species, the amazing tree kangaroos, and her over three decade commitment to conservation and local people in Papua New Guinea.

Go to top