SSC Leadership

SSC is governed by a Steering Committee, which is headed by the Commission Chair.

The Steering Committee represents a balance of regional and thematic perspectives and provides overall direction to the work of the Commission. The governance structure of the SSC must be reconstituted every four years, as per the IUCN Statutes.

The SSC Chair, in consultation with the Steering Committee, can establish various SSC Committees and Task Forces. The Chairs of these Committees or Task Forces are often members of the SSC Steering Committee. Additionally, the SSC Chair, in consultation with the Steering Committee, must appoint Chairs for the various SSC Specialist Groups at the beginning of each Quadrennium. Specialist Group Chairs are then mandated by the SSC Chair to appoint group members.

SSC Chair, Prof Jon Paul Rodríguez

SSC Deputy Chair, Rima Jabado

Steering Committee Members 2021-2025

Amanda Vincent
Asha de Vos
Axel Hochkirch
Axel Moehrenschlager
Dilys Roe
Domitilla Raimondo
Ehab Eid
Gabriela Lichtenstein
Greg Mueller
Ian Harrison
Jean-Christophe Vié
Luigi Boitani
Mike Hoffmann
Mirza Kusrini
Nunia Thomas
Onnie Byers
Paul Smith
Piero Genovesi
Russ Mittermeier
Tomas Diagne
Topiltzin Contreras MacBeath
Vivek Menon
Yan Xie

Institutional Observers

Birdlife International - Stuart Butchart 
Environment Agency Abu Dhabi - TBC
Indianapolis Zoo - Rob Shumaker 
Re:wild - Barney Long
TRAFFIC - Richard Scobey 
Wildlife Conservation Society - Elizabeth Bennett
World Association of Zoos and Aquariums - Clément Lanthier

IUCN Secretariat

Jane Smart, Global Director Biodiversity Conservation Group
Richard Jenkins, Deputy Director Global Species Programme 
Tom Brooks, Head Science & Knowledge Unit
Ana Nieto, Head Species Conservation Action 
Dao Nguyen, SSC Network Coordinator, Biodiversity Assessment & Knowledge

Regional Vice-Chairs

The Regional Vice-Chairs of the IUCN Species Survival Commission support the Chair's Office of the Species Survival Commission to facilitate efficient engagement and communication between relevant SSC Specialist Group Chairs and members, IUCN members, and national and regional SSC initiatives.

As defined in the Term of References, the Regional Vice-Chairs “will be appointed by the SSC Chair after consultation with the Steering Committee.” 

The Regional Vice-Chairs are nine one for each of the IUCN Statutory Regions:

Regional Vice-Chair for Africa - Vacant
Regional Vice-Chair for Meso and South America - Gabriela Lichtenstein
Regional Vice-Chair for North America and the Caribbean - Vacant
Regional Vice-Chair for China - Yan Xie
Regional Vice-Chair for West Europe - Jean-Christophe Vié
Regional Vice-Chair for South and East Asia - Mirza Kusrini
Regional Vice-Chair for West Asia - Ehab Eid
Regional Vice-Chair for Oceania - Nunia Thomas
Regional Vice-Chair for East Europe, North and Central Asia - Vacant

Chair's Office

The main priority of the Chair and the SSC office is to provide support and leadership to the extensive global network to help stimulate conservation action on the ground. Any requests for additional groups to become established, together with the appointment of the Chairs of the Specialist Groups, must be endorsed by the SSC Chair in consultation with the SSC Steering Committee.

Other responsibilities of the SSC Chair’s office include working with governments to address particular urgent species conservation issues, providing input to regional and national consultations and policy initiatives, consolidating and strengthening the SSC’s partnerships with other organizations, building collaboration with other Programmes and Commissions of IUCN, and fundraising for all SSC species related work. The SSC Chair’s Office works closely with the Global Species Programme in the IUCN Secretariat to support the SSC network, and to push forward the species conservation agenda within IUCN.

Special Advisors to the SSC

There are a handful of individuals who go beyond the extra mile, to regularly invest their time and energy into the SSC. As defined in the SSC bylaws, “the Chair of the Commission may appoint individuals as Advisory Members when they are in a working relationship with the SSC during the intersessional period”.
A new term – “Special Advisor to the SSC” – has been agreed for these Advisory Members under the current Chair’s Office. For the 2021–2025 IUCN quadrennium, the SSC Chair has appointed three Special Advisors to formally recognize their continued dedication and invaluable contributions to the work of the SSC.

David Mallon
Mark Stanley Price
Richard Sneider

Advisor to the Steering Committee
Simon Stuart