Honouring outstanding service to protected areas

Georgina Bustamente,  Alessandra Vanzell-Khouri, Roger Crofts, Jon Jarvis, Nik Lopoukhine, Sonam Wangchuk and Graeme Worboys received, at the IUCN WCC 2016 in Hawai’I, the Fred M. Packard International Parks Merit Award for their outstanding service to protected areas. 

Winners of the Packard Award at the IUCN World Conservation Congress 2016 in Hawai'i

Georgina Bustamente and Alessandra Vanzell-KhouriGeorgina Bustamente and Alessandra Vanzell-Khouri  , Jamaica, for their extraordinary dedication to advancing MPA management across the Caribbean for nearly 20 years, their Caribbean Marine Protected Area Management Network – CaMPAM – developed under the framework of UNEP’s Caribbean Environment Programme and its Specially Protected Areas and Wildlife Protocol, is the first network of its kind worldwide.

Roger Crofts, WCPA Regional Chair for EuropeRoger Crofts, United Kingdom, for his significant contributions to protected areas policy, governance, management and advocacy for over 40 years nationally, regionally and globally. Globally, Roger led the formulation of the Durban Accord and Action Plan at the Vth IUCN World Parks Congress in 2003, laying the foundation for IUCN work on protected areas for a decade.


Jon JarvisJon Jarvis, USA, for enhancing the lives of people by connecting them with parks and protected areas and the benefits they provide. As US National Park Service Director since 2009, Jon Jarvis has led a strong campaign to increase the relevance of parks and protected areas to a new and more diverse generation of citizens.


Nik LopoukhineNik Lopoukhine, Canada, spent a lifetime protecting the special places of our planet and inspiring new generations of people to experience, embrace, and love nature firsthand. As Chair of the IUCN World Commission on Protected Areas, Nik transformed and strategically repositioned the WCPA by re-invigorating the network, rekindling the vision, and modernising governance. He championed the cause of protected areas in the IUCN programme, and through his conviction and courage, strengthened the recognition of the fundamental role of protected areas in conserving nature, and of inspiring a new generation of professionals and citizens who love and conserve nature.

Sonam Wanchuk from BhutanSonam Wanchuk, Bhutan, for his distinguished career of 28 years, in developing and ensuring the sustainability of nature conservation in Bhutan,  since 2010, as Chief of the Wildlife Conservation Division, he has provided strong leadership for wildlife conservation ecosystem management, and addressing human wildlife conflict. As the technical team coordinator for the pioneering Bhutan Life project, he has facilitated the development of conservation and financial plans to secure the sustainability of for Bhutan’s protected areas.

Graeme WorboysGraeme Worboys, Australia, for his outstanding dedication to the vision and mission of the IUCN WCPA and for being an outstanding champion of the importance of connectivity for conservation across landscapes globally.  Through his most recent project to develop freely available learning resources for this community, he motivated hundreds of professionals to contribute voluntarily towards the “state of the art” publication Protected Area Governance and Management, in 2015.


The Packard Award is made to individuals or groups to recognize outstanding service to protected areas.  It is named for the individual who served as Secretary to the Commission in the early years, especially during the early 1970's At his death, he left a sum to establish an award in recognition of "valor". For more information on the Packard Award and to find out who has received it, visit https://www.iucn.org/protected-areas/world-commission-protected-areas/wcpa/awards/fred-packard-award-outstanding-service





Go to top