Aires protégées

IUCN Green List of Protected and Conserved Areas

The IUCN Green List of Protected and Conserved Areas is the first global standard of best practice for area-based conservation. It is a programme of certification for protected and conserved areas – national parks, natural World Heritage sites, community conserved areas, nature reserves and so on – that are effectively managed and fairly governed.
Active Green List jurisdictions June 2019

49 areas in 15 countries

IUCN just listed 3 new areas and relisted 2 areas to the IUCN Green List of Protected and Conserved Areas, which now counts 49 sites in total. Discover the IUCN Green List areas here!

By giving recognition to well-managed and well-governed protected and conserved areas, the IUCN Green List aims to increase the number of natural areas delivering long-lasting conservation results for people and nature.

Join now!

Contact us on or apply online.

How it works

Sites join the IUCN Green List by committing to achieving its standard. They become certified once they demonstrate a high bar of environmental and social performance. The IUCN Green List Standard addresses four themes: good governance, sound design and planning, effective management, and positive conservation outcomes.

The time from application to certification depends on the management quality of the site at the time of application. Sites choose when they are ready for evaluation, and have up to a maximum of five years to achieve certification, which is valid for a five year period. During that time, sites are regularly evaluated and reviewed against a set of demanding criteria. Enrolled sites therefore benefit from expert guidance on how to improve their performance and impacts. They also become part of a network, fostering exchange and learning among conservation practitioners.

Regional networks

For more detailed information about the IUCN Green List, please visit our new, dedicated website (currently in test phase) at

Go to top