10 Days left to apply for 2008 Reuters-IUCN Environmental Media Awards

With just 10 days to the deadline of 15 June, journalists and editors are invited to submit entries for this year’s Reuters–IUCN Media Awards for Excellence in Environmental Reporting, open to print and online journalists worldwide.

Reuters-IUCN Media Awards

The Global Winner of the Awards, selected from six regional winners representing Asia and Middle East, English-speaking Africa, French-speaking Africa, Europe, Latin America, and North America, Oceania and English-speaking Caribbean, will receive a cash prize of US$ 5’000. All six regional winners will attend the Global Awards Ceremony during the IUCN World Conservation Congress in Barcelona, Spain from 5-14 October 2008.

Cash prize of US$ 5,000 for global winner

The Awards, presented jointly by Reuters Foundation and IUCN since 1998, seek to recognise excellence in professional reporting on environmental and sustainable development issues; and foster a dialogue between journalists and experts to encourage informative reporting based on sound scientific data. They are co-funded by Reuters Foundation, IUCN and COM+ Alliance of Communicators for Sustainable Development.

Entries can be submitted either directly by authors or be nominated. Nominations may be made by media publishers, editors, TV producers, IUCN staff, IUCN members, IUCN commissions, and Reuters representatives.

The jury for the Reuters-IUCN Environmental Media Awards is comprised of the global master jury who choose the global winner from the six regional winners, and the regional juries who select the best entry for their region.

All submissions must have been published between 12 September 2006 and 10 June 2008.

Candidates may submit one article only, accompanied by an entry form, to IUCN:
by e-mail: media.awards iucn.org
or by fax : +41 (22) 999-0020
or by post: Reuters IUCN Media Awards, Rue Mauverney 28, 1196 Gland, Switzerland

Entries written in a language other than English, French or Spanish must be accompanied by a translation.

The deadline for entries is 15 June 2008.

For more information visit the website: www.iucn.org/media_awards or www.foundation.reuters.com or contact:

About Reuters Foundation

Reuters Foundation was created by Trust Deed in 1982 to support media in developing countries and to share Reuters fact-based reporting skills. It is a UK-registered charity (number 1082139) and is governed by Trustees appointed in accordance with the articles of association. It is also a company limited by guarantee (number 4047905).

To date more than 5,000 journalists from 172 countries have benefited from fully sponsored training provided by the Foundation on international media, business journalism, environmental and health issues, television coverage, conflict reporting and crisis-response. More information can be found at www.foundation.reuters.com

About IUCN

IUCN, the International Union for Conservation of Nature, helps the world find pragmatic solutions to our most pressing environment and development challenges by supporting scientific research; managing field projects all over the world; and bringing governments, NGOs, the UN, international conventions and companies together to develop policy, laws and best practice.

IUCN is the world’s oldest and largest global environmental network. IUCN is a democratic union with more than 1,000 government and NGO member organizations, and some 10,000 volunteer scientists in more than 150 countries. IUCN’s work is supported by 1,100 professional staff in 62 countries and hundreds of partners in public, NGO and private sectors around the world.


South America
North America
East and Southern Africa
West and Central Africa
Go to top