Recognize innovative and inspiring people through the Kenton Miller Award

The deadline for nominations is March 2016.

Kenton R. Miller Award

Innovation and dedication are keys to progress in our national parks and protected areas’ conservation objectives. The Kenton Miller Award celebrates individuals who are taking bold steps in protecting these most valued resources by recognizing their invaluable and innovative work with a 5,000 USD grant and accompanying citation.

The IUCN World Conservation Congress (WCC) in Hawai'i, USA will be the stage for the next award ceremony. WCPA members and individuals working in protected areas are eligible to nominate people working in protected areas who have demonstrated innovative approaches with recognized global impact in communications, planning and managing, finance and economics, assessment, monitoring and evaluation, learning and capacity development, and/or governance.

Previous Kenton Miller Award laureates include Dr Heliodoro Sánchez in 2007 for his approach to restoring mangrove forests, Dr Marc Hockings in 2008 for his contribution to management effectiveness of protected areas, and Dr Ernesto Enkerlin Hoeflich in 2009 for his outstanding achievements and innovations in wilderness area establishment. Sue Stolton and Nigel Dudley were recognized in 2010 for their instrumental role in highlighting how important protected areas are to people and the winner in 2012 was Oscar Loayza for his innovative approach to indigenous peoples’ participation in protected area management.

For more information, or to advance a nomination for 2014, please visit the Award website or contact  Peter Sanderson.

Work area: 
Protected Areas
Go to top