OECM Films

The OECMs Specialist Group has developed a film series to support awareness raising about other effective area-based conservation measures (OECMs).

The main film — Nature Stewardship Beyond Protected Areas: Other Effective Area-based Conservation Measures — features the experiences of a diverse group of South Africans as they explore the application of the OECM criteria to sites in the Kruger to Canyons Biosphere Region. It features the Dixie community rangelands, the Wits Rural Facility — a university research campus, and the Belfast Wetlands — a wetland within a forestry plantation.

The film series was directed by Megan May Nelson and Justin Woods at ReWild Africa. It was financed by the Shared Earth Foundation, produced by Harry Jonas, and benefited from significant inputs from Romy Antrobus Wuth, Daniel Marnewick and Candice Stevens. The German Federal Agency for Nature Conservation (BfN) also provided support with funding from the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (BMU). Natural Justice and LEAP Spiral supported the administration.