Sharing Power: A New Vision for Development | UPDATE ON CONFERENCE PROGRAMME

Sharing Power: A New Vision for Development, 11-15 January 2011, Whakatane New Zealand. Update on the Conference Programme 'Sharing Power: A New Vision for Development', is the very first global Conference to be convened by CEESP.

Sharing Power Logo

It marks the culmination of the collective efforts of everyone who has ever been involved in earlier manifestations of this Commission, and reinforces that CEESP has an important role in convening multi-disciplinary and multi-sectoral discussions on the cross cutting issues implicit in sustainable development. Consistent with the core values of CEESP, the partners in this Conference are indigenous and local organisations and communities (Te Runanga o Ngati Awa and Te Whare Wananga o Awanuiarangi).

The response to the public call for contributions was overwhelming. Contributons received will be delivered through Plenary and six consurrent streams. Speakers in Plenary sessions include the four Keynote speakers - Sir Hirini Moko Mead (NZ), Winona La Duke (Ojibwe,USA), Ashok Khosla (India), Professor Elinor Ostrom (USA) and Julia Marton-Lefevre (IUCN DG) by video. Other Plenary speakers include the Minister of Maori Affairs, Hon Pita Sharples, the Chairs of IUCN Commissions, CEC, CEESP CEL, CEM, SSC and WCPA, youth representatives and members of the CEESP Steering Committee.

The six Conference streams are: (i) Pathways to a new vision of conservation and development; (ii) Indigenous Values, Biocultural heritage and the Role of Protected Areas; (iii) Power-Sharing and Shared Governance in Practice; (iv) Grassroots Responses to Land Grabs, Extractive Industries and Climate Change; (v) Re-Thinking Economics and (vi) Inter-Cultural Dialogue, Education and Communicating Change. The Conference includes field trips into five Iwi (Maori tribal nations) where some presenters will have an opportunity to present their ideas and experiences to indigenous communities.

You can download a copy of the draft Programme with the six Streams and listings of all speakers and titles of presentations HERE. For more information on the Conference click here

The sponsors of this Conference are: IUCN, CEESP, Te Runanga o Ngati Awa, Te Whare Wananga o Awanuiarangi, Victoria University of Wellington, Te Puni Kokiri: Ministry of Maori Development, NZ Lottery Community, J.R. MacKenzie Trust, Nga Pae o te Maramatanga and the Rights and Resources Institute.


Work area: 
Social Policy
Go to top