Recognize protected area leadership

Nominations for the Packard awards are now open

Deadline for nominations is 15 June 2014

Julia Miranda Londoño, WCPA Regional Chair for South America Photo: Julia Miranda Londoño

Achieving success in protected areas takes knowledge, passion, dedication, ,stamina, and hard work, and a commitment that goes well beyond the normal day job. The Fred Packard Award acknowledges those who have dedicated exceptional energy to protected areas, who go above and beyond the call of duty, to build and maintain protected area successes. If you would like to recognize an exemplary individual achieving success in protected area excellence, the call for Fred Packard Award nominations is now open.

WCPA members, as well as other protected area professionals, are invited to nominate individuals or organizations who have demonstrated exceptional dedication to protected areas conservation, resulting in impact far beyond their site, agency or country. Contributions to conservation efforts that have impact on other sectors beyond protected areas can also be recognized under the criteria of the Award.

The last Packard award was made at the IUCN World Conservation Congress in Jeju, Korea in 2012. The winners were Dr Yury Darman from Russia, Ibrahim Bello from Niger, and Julia Miranda Londoño and Antonio Negrete from Colombia “in recognition of outstanding service in furthering conservation objectives in protected areas and society”.

This year’s laureate will be honored at the IUCN World Parks Congress 2014, in Sydney Australia.

For more information, or to advance a nomination, please visit the IUCN WCPA Website or contact Delwyn Dupuis.

The Packard Award is named for Fred Packard who served as Secretary to the IUCN Commission on National Parks and Protected Areas (now IUCN WCPA) in the early 1970s He bequeathed a sum to establish an award in recognition of "valor" . The Packard award has been made since 1982. For more information on the Packard Award and to read about past winners, please visit

Work area: 
Protected Areas
Protected Areas
World Heritage
Go to top