Nominate a protected area champion today!

Deadline for nominations is 15 June 2012.


Lone hiker on Redcliff Beach in Yuraygir National Park, Australia

Achieving success in protected areas takes stamina, dedication, hard work, knowledge, passion and a commitment that often goes beyond a mere 9 to 5 work day. The Fred Packard Award acknowledges those who have dedicated their full energies to protected areas, who go above and beyond the simple call to conservation to build and maintain protected area successes. I f you would like to recognize an exemplary individual achieving success in protected area excellence, the call for Fred Packard Award nominations is now open.

WCPA members, as well as other protected area professionals, are invited to nominate individuals or organizations who have demonstrated exceptional dedication to protected areas conservation, resulting in impact far beyond their agency or country. Contributions to conservation efforts that have impact on other sectors beyond protected areas can also be recognized under the criteria of the Award.

Previous laureates include Muslih Al-Juaid, a Saudi-Arabian ranger, who has demonstrated exceptional bravery in facing poachers; Maria Tereza Jorde Padua, who was vigorously involved in putting large areas in Brazil under protection; and Ernesto Enkerlin-Hoeflich, now Vice-Chair of the World Commission on Protected Areas (WCPA), who has been vital in profiling conservation in the national political agenda of Mexico.

This year’s laureate will be honored at the IUCN World Conservation Congress in Jeju, Korea.

For more information, or to advance a nomination for 2012, please visit the IUCN WCPA Website or contact Delwyn Dupuis.

Work area: 
Protected Areas
Protected Areas
Go to top