King Hassan II Great World Water Prize

The King Hassan II Great World Water Prize is an international award jointly established by the Government of Morocco and the World Water Council. The theme for the 2012 Prize is 'Cooperation and Solidarity in the fields of management and development in water resources.'

Artisanal fishery, Al Hoceima National Park, Morocco

The Great World Water Prize is awarded to an institution, organization, individual or group of individuals in honor of outstanding achievements in any aspects of water resources such as scientific, economic, technical, environmental, social, institutional, cultural or political.

The award is presented every three years in conjunction with the World Water Forum, during a special ceremony. The award winner receives a prize sum of US$ 100,000, a trophy and a certificate.

The 4th edition of the King Hassan II Great World Water Prize will be held in Marseille in March 2012 during the 6th World Water Forum. The deadline for submissions is 31 August 2011.

Click here to download the complete statutes.

The 2009 King Hassan II Great World Water Prize was awarded to Abdulatif Yousef Al-Hamad, Director General of the Arab Fund for Economic and Social Development, for his outstanding contributions to advancing Integrated Water Resources Management (IWRM) at the global scale.

For more information, please contact the Prize secretariat: +33 4 91 99 41 06 or [email protected]

Work area: 
Go to top