Kenton R. Miller Award for Innovation in Protected Area Sustainability open for Nominations

The 2009 Miller Award will recognize individuals that have innovated a new mechanism, policy, tool, or field practice that will promote the sustainability of Wilderness Areas. Wilderness Areas (both categories 1a and 1b), are defined in the IUCN Category Guidelines, 2008.

IUCN WCPA and the Wild Foundation will present the Kenton Miller Award for Innovation in Protected Areas Sustainability at Wild 9, the 9th World Wilderness Congress, Merida Mexico, 3-8 November 2009

Kenton Miller Award Logo Photo: Kenton Miller Award Logo

Such innovations will help ensure the long-term survival of established or proposed Wilderness Areas in the face of such global challenges as changes in climate, fragmentation of ecosystems by roads or other infrastructure, encroaching human settlements, harmful land use practices, misguided economic and social policies, or poorly designed and located development projects, among others.

Recognized innovations will have been tested under “real world” conditions, and be of international value

Detailed Criteria for the Award, and the required Nomination Form are found on the IUCN/WCPA website:

Closing date for nominations: 1 June 2009

Please send completed nomination forms* to:

Mrs. Delwyn Dupuis
IUCN Headquarters
28 Rue Mauverney
1196 Gland, Switzerland

Nominations may be sent in Spanish or French, but please forward such forms by 15 May as the absolute latest to allow for adequate translation services.

 The IUCN selection process will consider only those nomination forms that are complete, meet the posted criteria, and arrive at IUCN by the posted closing date.

Work area: 
Protected Areas
Protected Areas
Go to top