John C. Phillips Memorial Medal

IUCN Member Organizations and Commission Members are invited to submit nominations for the John C. Phillips Memorial Medal. The John C. Phillips Memorial Medal recognizes outstanding service in international conservation and commemorates the life and work of Dr John C. Phillips, a pioneer of the conservation movement.

John C. Phillips

Born in 1876, Dr Phillips specialized in Medicine and Zoology and made significant contributions to science, particularly in taxonomy and genetics. He was vitally concerned with international cooperation for the conservation of nature being closely involved with developing the early wildlife treaties. In his memory his friends established a Memorial Medal and entrusted the awarding of this recognition to IUCN. The Medal has been presented at every General Assembly and Congress since 1963.

Distinguished recipients of the Award have included HRH The Prince of the Netherlands, Indira Gandhi, HM Sultan Qaboos Bin Said of Oman, Professor E. O. Wilson, Dr Luc Hoffmann (pictured on the right receiving his award from former IUCN President, Yolanda Kakabadse in 2004) and Dr José Aristeo Sarukhán Kermez, each of whom have contributed their vision, wisdom and perseverance to furthering the global conservation cause.

The John C. Phillips Medal will be presented at the IUCN World Conservation Congress in Jeju, Republic of Korea, 6-15 September 2012.

IUCN Members and Commission Members are invited to submit nominations for the John C. Phillips Memorial Medal. Click here to nominate an individual via our online system.

Please note that organizations are not eligible, nor are current staff of IUCN, and individuals may not nominate themselves.

The prize will be awarded on the recommendation of an award jury consisting of five serving members of the IUCN Constituency Committee.

We encourage you to use the online system if possible, which will greatly assist the collation of nominees. However, if you have limited internet access, you can write to and we will send you a form to return via fax/post/email.

The deadline for nominations is 30 September 2011. 

Work area: 
Protected Areas
Environmental Law
South America
North America
East and Southern Africa
West and Central Africa
West Asia
Go to top