The Harold Jefferson Coolidge Memorial Medal

Established eight years ago during the World Conservation Congress in Thailand, the Harold Jefferson Coolidge Memorial Medal will go to a conservation professional who has made outstanding contributions to the conservation of nature and natural resources.

Harold Jefferson Coolidge

Late Harold Jefferson Coolidge, born in Boston in 1904, was one of the founders of IUCN, a former president of the Union and its principal fundraiser from 1948 to the 1980s. He founded and chaired the Species Survival and National Parks Commission of IUCN, and was the first to bring women scientists into international conservation research. He influenced the lives of many students and professionals wishing to achieve the goals of conservation and environment protection.

The winner of the Harold Jefferson Coolidge Memorial Medal will be presented at the upcoming IUCN World Conservation Congress in Jeju, Republic of Korea, 6-15 September 2012.

Nominees shall be individuals who have made internationally significant contributions to effective conservation in one or more of the following ways:

  • Inspiration and support to individuals enabling them to become leading conservationists.
  • Exceptional contribution to the establishment of conservation institutions, or expanding the scope of existing ones.
  • Creation or implementation of international conservation initiatives.

Anybody can nominate an individual.
Click here to nominate an individual via our online system.

Please note that organizations are not eligible, nor are current staff of IUCN, and individuals may not nominate themselves.

The prize will be awarded on the recommendation of an award jury consisting of five serving members of the IUCN Constituency Committee and three eminent conservation leaders who knew Harold Jefferson Coolidge well and/or understand his conservation ideals.

We encourage you to use the online system if possible, which will greatly assist the collation of nominees. However, if you have limited internet access, you can write to [email protected] and we will send you a form to return via fax/post.

The deadline for nominations is 30 September 2011.

Work area: 
Protected Areas
Environmental Law
South America
North America
East and Southern Africa
West and Central Africa
West Asia
Go to top