First regional members’ meeting: Commitment to action

Members from the Eastern and Southern Africa have committed to contribute to the implementation of the IUCN Programme in collaboration with the Secretariat. The commitment was made during the first members’ meeting that was held in Nairobi, Kenya from 22-23 October 2009.

ESARO Regional Members Meeting Photo: IUCN

Members discussed the new priorities for the region and the strategic direction IUCN should take in the region. Through group discussions members examined the IUCN programme to isolate themes that IUCN should focus on and steps to be taken to develop an action plan that involves the three strands of the Union in the region.

The meeting re-emphasised the importance of working together as one region and discussed forward-looking ideas that IUCN should explore in improving membership engagement in the region.

A presentation on the role and the functions of National and Regional Committees was given and members agreed to strengthen the structures of the Union. Through a democratic process an interim regional committee was elected to office with Mr Charles Jonga from Zimbabwe as the chair and Dr James Njogu from Kenya as vice chair. Other members of the committee are Ms Thuli Makama from Swaziland, Mr Leta Teka from Ethiopia, Mr Archilles Byaruhanga from Uganda and Mr Serge Rajaobelina from Madagascar.

The meeting brought together over 30 participants representing all the countries where we have members. The meeting also included Dr Hillary Masundire and Dr Fatou Sarr, two of the IUCN Councillors for Africa. The Commissions on Ecosystems Management and Education and Communication were represented by their respective Regional Vice Chairs. Also present was Dr Enrique Lahmann.

For more information, please contact hastings.chikoko@iucn... and

East and Southern Africa
Go to top