Archipelago of the Seven Islands, France

The oldest and biggest nature sanctuary in France shelters its most important seabird colony

Archipelago of the seven islands, France

The archipel of the seven Islands, Archipel des sept iles, is an IUCN Category IV Nature reserve Marine Protected Area in France of 320 ha. It is a granite archipelago made up of five main islands and some rocks.

The Ile Rouzic shelters the unique colony of northern gannets. Herring gulls, shags, Atlantic puffins and guillemots all nest in shady cavities and little creeks, as well as a herd of a dozen grey seals.

This area has been managed as a nature preserve by La Ligue pour la Protection des Oiseaux (Bird Protection League) since 1912.

Work area: 
Protected Areas
Go to top