Adriatic Sea Partnership

The Adriatic Sea is the most endangered region in the Mediterranean Sea — a highly sensitive marine area facing serious environmental challenges and home to some of the most significant treasures of world heritage. The six countries on the Adriatic (Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Italy, Montenegro and Slovenia) include EU member states, candidate countries, and potential members. Their recent history has been marked by intensive and diverse development with increasing impacts on the health of the sea.

Montenegrin Adriatic sea

The overall objective of the Adriatic Sea Partnership (ASP) is the protection and sustainable development of the Adriatic Sea Region. It helps to prepare and implement projects through a comprehensive umbrella partnership and platform for joint action based on commitments by coastal states under appropriate institutional arrangements.
The ASP was launched at the Mediterranean Action Plan (MAP) sub-regional conference on the Sustainable Development Strategy for the Adriatic in Portoroz (Slovenia) in June 2006. Financial support for the first phase of the ASP has been provided by the Italian Ministry for the Environment, Land and Sea and the Slovenian Ministry of the Environment and Spatial Planning. The ASP is open to all and is based on full cooperation with existing Adriatic initiatives and coordination with implementation of MAP and EU programmes.

Partners: Italian Ministry for the Environment, Land and Sea, Regional Environmental Center, Morje potrebuje naglas, Slovenian Ministry of the Environment and Spatial Planning, InfoRac/Mediterranean Action Plan (MAP), UNEP, Environment and Security (ENVSEC), Ministry of Environment, Forests and Water Administration, Republic of Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina Mediterranean Action Plan, Regional Activity Center for Cleaner Production , International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN), Instituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia (INGV), Republic of Montenegro – Ministry of Tourism and Environment, UNESCO
More information at [email protected].

South-Eastern Europe 
Go to top