8 days left to nominate innovative protected area practitioners for 5’000 USD Kenton Miller Award

The Kenton Miller Award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated innovative ways to sustain our national parks and protected areas. A 5’000 USD Stipend and Certificate will be awarded to the best candidate during the IUCN World Conservation Congress in Barcelona, October 2008.

Kenton Miller Award Logo

Nominees are strong candidates who have developed and applied innovations that demonstrate local, national or international impact in communications; planning and management; finance and economic assessment, monitoring and evaluation; science, learning and capacity building, and/or innovative governance.


Dr Heliodoro Sanchez was our first awardee at the 2nd Latin American Protected Areas Congress, Argentina, 2007. His new approach to restore mangrove forests, by engaging local coastal communities helped to stabilize the adjacent coastal areas, creating fish nurseries, and providing wood for fuel and building material.

The deadline for receiving nominations is 15 July 2008.


For more information on the Kenton R. Miller Award for Innovation in Protected Areas Sustainability or to nominate your candidate, visit our website at

http://cms.iucn.org/about/union/commissions/wcpa/wcpa_overview/wcpa_awards/wcpa_kentonaward/index.cfm or contact Delwyn.dupuis@iucn.org

Work area: 
Protected Areas
Protected Areas
Go to top