Species Survival Commission

SSC Leadership and Steering Committee

SSC is governed by a Steering Committee, which is headed by the Commission Chair. The Steering Committee represents a balance of regional and thematic perspectives and provides overall direction to the work of the Commission.

The governance structure of the SSC must be reconstituted every four years, as per the IUCN Statutes.

The SSC Chair, in consultation with the Steering Committee, can establish various SSC Committees and Task Forces. The Chairs of these Committees or Task Forces are often members of the SSC Steering Committee.

The SSC Chair, in consultation with the Steering Committee, must appoint Chairs for the various SSC Specialist Groups at the beginning of each Quadrennium. Specialist Group Chairs are then mandated by the SSC Chair to appoint group members.

SSC Chair, Prof Jon Paul Rodríguez

SSC Deputy Chair, Ms Domitilla Raimondo

Members of the SSC Steering Committee 2017-2020
Prof Luigi Boitani Mr Mike Hoffmann*
Dr Onnie Byers Prof Amanda Vincent
Dr Claudio Campagna Ms Olga Krever
Prof Topiltzin Contreras MacBeath Dr Mirza Kusrini
Mr Ehab Eid Dr Fred Launay
Dr Dmitry Geltman Dr Gabriela Lichtenstein
Dr Piero Genovesi Mr Vivek Menon
Dr Brahim Haddane Dr Russ Mittermeier
Dr Ian Harrison Dr Greg Mueller
Dr Axel Hochkirch Ms Nunia Thomas
Dr Jonathan Hutton Dr Pricelia Tumenta
Dr Yan Xie  
Institutional Observers  
Birdlife International - Dr Stuart Butchart  
Conservation International - Mr Will Turner  
Global Wildlife Conservation - Prof Wes Sechrest  
TRAFFIC - Mr Steven Broad  
Wildlife Conservation Society - Dr Elizabeth Bennett  
Zoological Society of London - Mr Mike Hoffmann*  
Fondation Franklinia - Dr Jean-Christophe Vié  
World Association of Zoos and Aquariums - Theo Pagel  
IUCN Secretariat  
Dr Jane Smart, Global Director Biodiversity Conservation Group  
Dr Richard Jenkins, Deputy Director Global Species Programme  
Dr Tom Brooks, Head Science & Knowledge Unit  
Ana Nieto, Head Species Conservation Action  

* Is both a member and an institutional observer 

Go to top