Commission on Ecosystem Management

West and Central Africa

Cameroon Ngok Mapubi

CEM West and Central Africa Regional Chair: Parfait Teto 
CEM West and Central Africa Regional Co Chair: Jules Adjima
CEM Steering Committee Focal point: Birguy Lamizana

States and Territories of the Region

Benin - Burkina Faso - Cameroon - Cape Verde - Central African Republic - Chad - Congo - Congo (DROC) - Côte d'Ivoire - Equatorial Guinea - Gabon - Gambia - Ghana - Guinea - Guinea Bissau - Liberia - Mali - Mauritania - Niger - Nigeria - Sao Tome and Principe - Senegal - Sierra Leone - Togo

The West and Central Africa region, from the Gulf of Guinea to the southern limit of the Sahara to Gabon, comprises 23 countries. This region crosses a climatic gradient characterized by annual average precipitation ranging from 250 mm to 3000 mm, which gives it a climatic peculiarity and a great diversity of ecosystems (terrestrial and maritime) containing a unique floristic and faunal diversity. We can cite:

Terrestrial ecosystems:

  • Tropical rainforest (1500 mm to 3000 mm of rain), with a diversity of habitat including special habitats such as mangroves and wildlife
  • The forest-savannah ecotone (1200 mm to 1500 mm of rain), containing a mosaic of savannah and forest species as well as habitats vital for many migratory bird species
  • Savannah (800 mm to 1,500 mm of rain), characterized by a coexistence of species of trees and grasses and which constitutes the privileged domain of the great African mammals;
  • The Sahel (200 mm to 500 mm of rain), a vast expanse containing a great variability of biological forms adapted to xeric conditions with an impressive diversity of acacias. It represents a transitional environment between the savanna and the desert.
  • The desert (less than 200 mm of rain), which represents the driest part of the region. It contains fewer species but, due to the extreme conditions of life, possesses a potentially important genetic diversity.

Marine and Continental Ecosystems:

  • Marine ecosystems: estuary, delta, coastal habitats, gaps, mangroves and coral reefs.
  • Continental ecosystems: rivers, rivers, lakes, peatlands
Go to top