Commission on Ecosystem Management


The Arctic is a polar region located at the northernmost part of Earth. The Arctic consists of the Arctic Ocean, adjacent seas, and parts of Alaska, Canada, Finland, Greenland, Iceland, Norway, Russia and Sweden. Land within the Arctic region has seasonally varying snow and ice cover, with predominantly treeless permafrost (permanently frozen underground ice)-containing tundra. Arctic seas contain seasonal sea ice in many places.
Terminal Moraines Glacier, Ellesmere Island, High Arctic, Canada

Currently this group is inactive, but if you are interested in this Specialist Group, please contact 
Steering Committee Focal Point Liette Vasseur

Go to top