Protected Areas

Background Image: 
Winners of the Packard Award at the IUCN World Conservation Congress 2016 in Hawai'i

Honouring outstanding service to protected areas

Georgina Bustamente,  Alessandra Vanzell-Khouri, Roger Crofts, Jon Jarvis, Nik Lopoukhine, Sonam Wangchuk and Graeme Worboys received, at the IUCN WCC 2016 in Hawai’I, the Fred M. Packard International Parks Merit Award for their outstanding service to protected areas. 

Ashiq Ahmad Khan, winner of the Kenton Miller Award 2016. From left to right: Kathy MacKinnon, Ashiq Ahmad Khan, Natasha Miller, Braulio Ferreira de Souza Dias, and Julia Miranda

Ashiq Ahmad Khan wins the Kenton Miller Award 2016

3 September 2016

IUCN World Conservation Congress, Honolulu

Ashiq Ahmad Khan received the Kenton Miller Award for Innovation in Protected Areas Management for achieving a more secure and sustainable management of Khunjerab National Park in Pakistan.  Ashiq was one of the first protected area managers in the region to promote co-management with local communities.


Subscribe to RSS - Protected Areas
Go to top