Western Gray Whale Advisory Panel

Panel chairs and members

Western Gray Whale Advisory Panel 2016 Photo: A.Burdin

Appointed from 1 October 2015 to 31 December 2016 are: 

WGWAP co-chairs: 

  • Dr Greg Donovan -  Head of Science for the International Whaling Commission
  • Dr Randall Reeves - Chair of the Cetacean Specialist Group of IUCN Species Survival Commission

WGWAP members: 

  • Dr Alexander M. Burdin -  Senior Scientist, Chief of Laboratory of Animal Ecology of Kamchatka Branch of Pacific Institute of Geography, Far-East Division of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Russia 
  • Dr Justin G. Cooke - Scientific consultant, Centre for Ecosystem Management Studies, Germany
  • Dr Olof S. Linden - Director of Research and Doctoral Program, Professor in Marine Environment Management, World Maritime University (WMU), International Maritime Organization (IMO), Sweden 
  • Mr Lloyd Lowry - Affiliate Associate Professor,  University of Alaska Fairbanks School of Fisheries and Ocean Science, USA 
  • Dr Douglas P. Nowacek - Repass-Rodgers Chair of Marine Conservation Technology,  Nicholas School of the  Environment & Pratt School of Engineering, Duke University Marine Laboratory, USA 
  • Dr Corinne Pomerleau - W. Garfield Weston Postdoctoral Fellow University of Manitoba, Center for Earth Observation Science, Winnipeg, Canada & Greenland Institute of Natural Resources, Department of Birds and Mammals, Nuuk, Greenland
  • Dr Brandon L. Southall - President and Senior Scientist, Southall Environmental Associates, Inc. & Research Associate, University of California, Santa Cruz, USA 
  • Mr Grigory A. Tsidulko - Head of Representative Office for Russia, Antarctic Ocean Alliance
  • Dr Alexander I. Vedenev - Head of the Laboratory on Noises and Sound Fluctuations in the Ocean at P. P. Shirshov Institute of Oceanology of Russian Academy of Sciences, Russia 
  • Dr David W. Weller - Research Wildlife Biologist (marine mammals), Marine Mammal and Turtle Division, Southwest Fisheries Science Center (SFSC), National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS), National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), La Jolla, California, USA 

WGWAP emeritus member:

  • Dr Alexey V. Yablokov - Member and Counsellor of the Russian Academy of Sciences & President of the Marine Mammal Council, Russia 






Go to top