Livelihoods and landscape strategy (LLS)

Livelihoods and Landscapes Strategy - LLS

Objective & global scope
The livelihoods and Landscapes Strategy (LLS) is an IUCN forest programme covering 11 geographical components in 25 countries across Asia, Africa and Latin America. Its goal is to support national programmes to produce real change in the lives of the rural poor, ensure that forest goods and services are sustainably supplied and that biodiversity conservation is integrated on productive landscapes. The programme is executed through 4 themes namely,
• Poverty reduction and forests;
• Markets and Incentives;
• Governance (FLEGT (Illegal logging, and Rights & Tenure), and
• Transforming Landscapes (FLR).

Intervention process
The LLS programme seeks to bridge the gap between learning, generated from the field and poverty reduction strategies at the national level. This is pursued through the following processes:
• Targeting programme results and outcomes as opposed to project outputs;
• Ensuring that generated knowledge is available to decision makers within and out of the forestry sector;
• Enhancing the capacity of local civil society, district and municipal administrations;
• Making use of IUCN’s network of members and partners, and
• Negotiation, measurements, learning, and adaptation, all related to outcomes and trade-offs for enhanced poverty reduction.

How LLS is different
• It is an innovative process that fully integrates and contributes to the efforts of governments and other partners to alleviate rural poverty;
• It builds and adds on ongoing and previous work with an emphasis on learning;
• It involves collaboration/partnership with other organizations rather than competition;
It brings together various countries in different regions overlaid through common themes with field activities that embrace situational analyses, the participatory development of progress indicators and effective monitoring of progress.

Scope in PACO
The LLS has been implemented under four major landscape types in the IUCN PACO space namely:

• Upper Guinea Forest Landscape : represented by Ghana and Liberia
• Sahelian landscapes : represented by Burkina Faso and Mali
• Congo Basin : represented by Cameroon, Congo and the DRC
• Great Lakes: represented by Rwanda and Burundi.


Une vue aérienne d'écosystèmes d'Afrique centrale et occidentale