Plants

Arctic poppy

Arctic Plant Specialist Group

Chair: Dr Stephen Talbot
Contact: Stephen_Talbot@fws.gov

Red List Authority Coordinator: Dr Mora Aronsson
Contact: mora.aronsson@artdata.slu.se

Prepusa connata

Brazil Plant Red List Authority

Red List Authority Coordinator: Gustavo Martinelli
Contact: gmartine@jbrj.gov.br  

Red List Authority Deputy Coordinator: Tainan Messina
Contact: tainan@cncflora.jbrj.gov.br

Boulder with Liverworts & Moss

Bryophyte Specialist Group (mosses, liverworts, and hornworts)

Co-Chairs: Dr Tomas Hallingbäck and Dr Irene Bisang
Contact: Dr Tomas Hallingbäck + 46 18 67 2767, tomas.hallingback@ArtData.slu.se ;
Dr Irene Bisang Irene.Bisang@nrm.se

Red List Authority Coordinator: Dr Ariel Bergamini
Contact: ariel.bergamini@wsl.ch

Publication: Mosses, Liverworts, and Hornworts: Status Survey and Conservation Action Plan for Bryophytes
Website: IUCN/SSC Bryophyte Specialist Group

Cactus

Cactus and Succulent Plant Specialist Group

Chair: Dr Héctor M. Hernández Macías
Contact: hmhm@ibiologia.unam.mx

Red List Authority Coordinator: Dr Barbara Goettsch
Contact: bgoettsch1@gmail.com 

Publication: Cactus and Succulent Plants: Status Survey and Conservation Action Plan
Mailing List: CSSG Listserv
Website: IUCN SSC Cacti and Succulents Specialist Group; Global Cactus Assessment

Nepenthes lowii

Carnivorous Plant Specialist Group

Chair: Robert Cantley
Contact: chair@iucn-cpsg.org

Red List Authority Coordinator: Dr Charles Clarke
Contact: clarke.charles1@gmail.com  

Galanthus platyphyllus

Caucasus Plant Red List Authority

Red List Authority Coordinator: Prof. Dr. George Nakhutsrishvilli
Contact: botanins@yahoo.com

Central African Plant Red List Authority

Red List Authority Coordinator: vacant
Contact:

Ginkgo biloba

Chinese Plant Specialist Group

Chair: Dr Qin Hain-ing
Contact: hainingqin@ibcas.ac.cn

Red List Authority Coordinator: Dr Liu Quanru
Contact: liuquanru@sohu.com

Website: Chinese Plant Specialist Group Website

Conifer

Conifer Specialist Group

Chair: Dr Aljos Farjon
Contact: 44/208/3325402, a.farjon@kew.org

Red List Authority Coordinator: Philip Thomas
Contact: p.thomas@rbge.org.uk

Newsletter: FITZROYA
Publication: Conifers: Status Survey and Conservation Action Plan

Wild garlic

Crop Wild Relative Specialist Group

Co-Chairs: Dr Ehsan Dulloo and Dr Nigel Maxted
Contact: Dr Ehsan Dulloo, +39 06 6118 206, e.dulloo@cgiar.org, Dr Nigel Maxted, nigel.maxted@dial.pipex.com

Red List Authority Coordinator: Dr Ehsan Dulloo
Contact: e.dulloo@cgiar.org 

Website: www.cwrsg.org/index.asp

Sugar cane plantations at Santa Clara province, Cuba

Cuban Plant Specialist Group

Chair: Luis Roberto González Torres
Contact: lrgonzaleztorres@gmail.com

Red List Authority Coordinator: Luis Roberto González Torres
Contact: lrgonzaleztorres@gmail.com

 

Cycads

Cycad Specialist Group

Co-Chairs: Dr John Donaldson and Dr Patrick Griffith
Contact: Dr John Donaldson: +27 21 799 8672 ; J.Donaldson@sanbi.org.za
Dr Patrick Griffith: Patrick@montgomerybotanical.org

Red List Authority Coordinator: De Wet Bosenberg
Contact: D.Bosenberg@sanbi.org.za

Publication: Cycads: Status Survey and Conservation Action Plan
Website:  IUCN/SSC Cycad Specialist Group

Lobelia telekii

Eastern Africa Plant Red List Authority

Chair: Mr Quentin Luke
Contact: quentin.luke@swiftkenya.com

Red List Authority Coordinator: Vacant

Baldellia ranunculoides subspecies repens

Freshwater Plant Specialist Group

Chair: Richard Lansdown
Contact: rlansdown@ardeola.demon.co.uk

Red List Authority Coordinator: Melanie Bilz

Contact: mela.bilz@gmx.de

Lava Cactus (Brachycereus Nesioticus). One of the first inhabitants on the Galapagos Islands.

Galapagos Plant Specialist Group

Chair: Dr Alan Tye
Contact: alantye@gmail.com

Red List Authority Coordinator: Dr Alan Tye
Contact: alantye@gmail.com

Magnolia tree

Global Trees Specialist Group

Co-Chairs: Ms Sara Oldfield and Adrian Newton
Contact: Ms Sara Oldfield; +44 208 332 5953, sara.oldfield@bgci.org;
Adrian Newton;  A.Newton@bournemouth.ac.uk

Red List Authority Coordinator: Vacant

Website: http://www.globaltrees.org/gtsg.htm

Hawaiian hibiscus

Hawaiian Plant Specialist Group

Chair: Ms Marie Bruegmann
Contact: marie_bruegmann@fws.gov

Red List Authority Coordinator: Ms Marie Bruegmann
Contact: marie_bruegmann@fws.gov

 

 

Hibiscus Syriacus, the national flower of Korea

Korean Plant Specialist Group

Chair: Dr Kim Yong-Shik
Contact: +82 53 8102975, yongshik@ynu.ac.kr 

Red List Authority Coordinator: Chin-Sung Chang
Contact: quercus@plaza.snu.ac.kr

Newsletter: KPSG Newsletter

Endemic Macronesian heaths, also known as fayal-brezal

Macaronesian Island Plant Specialist Group

Chair: Dr Angel Bañares Baudet
Contact: +34 922 922 309, abanbau@gobiernodecanarias.org

Red List Authority Coordinator: Dr Manuel Marrero Gomez
Contact: mvmargom@gobiernodecanarias.org  


Madagascar baobabs

Madagascar Plant Specialist Group

Chair: Vololoniaina Jeannoda
Contact: vololoniaina.jeannoda@gmail.com 

Red List Authority Coordinator: Rakouth Bakolimalala  
Contact: ba.rakouth@gmail.com

Sonneratia alba

Mangrove Specialist Group

Co-Chairs: Dr Jurgenne Primavera and Professor Joe Lee
Contact: Dr Jurgenne Primavera, e: georginehp@yahoo.com, Professor Joe Lee, e: joe.lee@griffith.edu.au

Red List Authority Coordinator: Jean Yong
Contact: jyong@sutd.edu.sg
 

Cáfe marron (Ramosmania rodriguesii)

Mascarene Island Plant Specialist Group

Co-Chairs: Dr Vikash Tatayah and Stéphane Baret
Contact: Dr Vikash Tatayah: vtatayah@mauritian-wildlife.org 
Stéphane Baret: stephane.baret@reunion-parcnational.fr

Red List Authority Coordinators: Joel Dupont and Kersley Pynee
Contact: joel.duponx@orange.fr; kpynee@mail.gov.mu

 

Dandelion

Medicinal Plant Specialist Group

Chair: Dr Danna Leaman
Contact: +1 613 235 7213, djl-green-world@rogers.com

Red List Authority Coordinator: Dr Danna Leaman
Contact: djl-green-world@rogers.com

Newsletter: Medicinal Plant Conservation
Publication: Medicinal Plant Conservation Bibliography
Website: IUCN SSC Medicinal Plant Specialist Group

Lonicera splendida

Mediterranean Plant Specialist Group

New Caledonia Plant Red List Authority

Red List Authority Coordinator: Vincent Tanguy

Contact: coordination@endemia.nc

North American Plant Red List Authority

Chair: Bruce Young
Contact: bruce_young@natureserve.org

Orchid

Orchid Specialist Group

Chair: Dr Mike Fay
Contact: +44 208 332 5315, m.fay@kew.org

Red List Authority Coordinator: Hassan Rankou
Contact: h.rankou@kew.org

Publication Orchids: Status Survey and Conservation Action Plan
Newsletter Orchid Conservation News
Mailing list OSG Listserv
Website IUCN SSC Orchid Specialist Group

Palm leaf

Palm Specialist Group

Chair: Dr William Baker
Contact: +44 20 8332 5000; w.baker@kew.org

Red List Authority Coordinator: Dr William Baker
Contact: w.baker@kew.org

Publication: Palms: Their Conservation and Sustained Utilization
Newsletter: PSG Newsletter
Website: IUCN SSC Palm Specialist Group

Aloe dichotoma (Quiver Tree) in Namaqualand.

Southern African Plant Specialist Group

Chair: Ms Domitilla Raimondo
Contact: +27 12 843 5000, d.Raimondo@sanbi.org.za

Red List Authority Coordinator:  Ms Lize von Staden
Contact: L.vonStaden@sanbi.org.za


Enhalus acoroides

Seagrass Specialist Group

Chair: Dr Fred Short
Contact: fred.short@unh.edu

Red List Authority Coordinator: Dr Fred Short
Contact: fred.short@unh.edu 

Lantana camara

Temperate South American Plant Specialist Group

Chair: Dr Pablo de Maio
Contact: phdemaio@gmail.com

Red List Authority Coordinator: Mrs Ana de Villalobos
Contact: avillalo@criba.edu.ar

 

Follow us

Facebook Flickr Twitter Youtube

The Latest Amazing Species

search for species
  • IUCN Red List Logo
Help make a difference!
  • Donate to IUCN Red List