Kenton Miller


Nominations for the Kenton Miller award now closed

Kenton R. Miller Award

Recognize innovative and inspiring people through the Kenton Miller Award

The deadline for nominations is March 2016. …  

19 Mar 2014 | News story

This program promotes new approaches to conservation and ecosystem protection. Named for Dr. Kenton R. Miller, one of the leading figures in international protected area conservation, the program honors innovation in communications, planning and management, finance and economics, assessment, monitoring, and evaluation, learning and capacity building, or governance.

One aspect of the program is the prestigious Miller award given at a major conservation event by IUCN's World Commission on Protected Areas. (The US$ 5000 stipend and certification are presented at a major conservation event.)

The program’s principal goal is to share the work of conservation innovators globally.

The most recent award given in 2014 at the IUCN World Parks Congress in Sydney, Australia honored the work of Sukianto Lusli, Agus Budi Utomo and Yusup Cahyadin for their role in developing and implementing innovative approaches to forest conservation in Indonesia.

Who can be nominated?

 Ideally, nominees are employed by an organization that is involved with protected area management, associated education or research. The organization can be public, private, NGO or community-based;

Their innovation will fall within or any combination of the following categories: 

  • Communications;
  • Planning and Management;
  • Finance and Economics;
  • Assessment, Monitoring, and Evaluation;
  • Learning and Capacity Building; and,
  • Governance.

The impact of his/her innovation can be demonstrated and will have been recognized and endorsed by peers at the local, national, and/or international level.

The Award will give preference to candidates that have not have been previously recognized internationally for their innovation.

The Award will not cover recognition for life-time service to protected areas or for bravery in their defense (as these merits are intended to be recognized by the IUCN/WCPA Packard Award).

Selection Process:

  • Nominations are called by WCPA Chair every 2 years in January and prior to key global and regional IUCN and or WCPA meetings.
  • Nominations are invited from WCPA Members and others involved with protected areas.
  • The Award, its purpose and associated eligibility criteria is be announced in the WCPA newsletter and website, the IUCN Bulletin, and via cooperating conservation organizations
  •  The nomination must address the criteria and must include a draft citation of no more than 250 words.
  • The WCPA Chair will establish a Selection Committee to examine the nominations all then identify the top three candidates. The Selection Committee will be jointly established by the Chair, WCPA and the Director of GPAP. The Committee will be comprised of at least 3 representatives from IUCN-WCPA, the Global Protected Areas Program and /or other Conservation Agencies.
  • An independent Award Jury, consisting of three world-recognized conservation leaders will be established the WCPA Chair to analyze the three finalists, and select the winner.
  • All Selection Committee members and Jury members will act independently and withdraw from the process if there is any real or perceived conflict of interest.

Kenton Miller Award


Donate to the Kenton Miller Award
  • Kenton R. Miller Award
  • World Commission on Protected Areas Logo
  • George Wrîght Society